A Night with Benefit & Birchbox

My girlfriends and I (and many other SF beauties) had the pleasure of spending Monday evening with the Chestnut St Benefit gals and Birchbox founders Hayley and Katia.  We were welcomed with a glass of champagne and mini cupcakes while attendees received customized beauty consultations from the Benefit staff along with a brow wax if need be.

I was super excited to try Benefit’s latest innovation called Sun Beam.  Makeup maven Vanessa prepared my face by combining a few dabs of Sun Beam with Triple Performing Facial Emulsion in order to give my face an overall glow.  By thinning out Sun Beam and layering it in with your moisturizer, you add a subtle golden glow to your complexion without appearing like you just ran a mile. Vanessa shared that if you wish for less of a glow, dab the complexion highlighter on your cheek bones where you normally would place High Beam or another highlighter.

She then souped up my lashes with They’re Real! mascara- and I was stunned that every single person in the shop asked which mascara I used.  I had never purchased this mascara before because my lashes are pretty long to begin with, and so They’re Real seemed intimidating.  What was I thinking?  My lashed are not only LONG, but also subtly thick.  I really do look like I have flasies on- can we say “date night mascara?”  Vanessa added a few more products to my face to keep my look minimal for the evening.

While checking out the progress of my gals, I had the opportunity to chat with Hayley and Katia from Birchbox.  Yes, I totally geeked out because I’m such a fan of their business and they too like to talk about make up!  Hayley and Katia were both genuinely interested in the products I have and have not used over the last year or so, as they are always tweaking the product selection.  Did you know that each month your Birchbox REALLY is put together just for you?  Taking into account your product reviews, previous shipments, and beauty profile, someone is hand picking each sample for your box- yes it’s true!

Ok, so what did I buy?

My girlfriends all purchased They’re Real! mascara, and some creaseless shadows.  It was a successful night for all!  New tips, great make up, and the most incredible hosts.  Thank you Benefit and Birchbox!

One thought on “A Night with Benefit & Birchbox

Leave a Reply

